write

Tell your superintendent or principal that children NEED human trafficking prevention in schools

Our human trafficking prevention programming teaches middle and high school students about human trafficking and gives them the tools they need to prevent exploitation of themselves, their peers, and in their communities. 

Help us reach more youth and more schools by sending a message to your school district superintendent—or to the principal of a school attended by your child—telling them that you want to see trafficking prevention taught in schools!

1. Find your district & superintendent (OR email your child's school's principal directly)                              

SCHOOL DISTRICT SUPERINTENDENT EMAIL
Bethel Tom Seigel tseigel@bethelsd.org
Carbonado Scott Hubbard shubbard@carbonado.k12.wa.us
Clover Park Ron Banner rbanner@cloverpark.k12.wa.us
Dieringer Michael Farmer mfarmer@dieringer.wednet.edu
Eatonville Krestin Bahr k.bahr@eatonville.wednet.edu
Fife Kevin Alfano kalfano@fifeschools.com
Franklin Pierce Lance Goodpaster lgoodpaster@fpschools.org
Orting Marci Shepard shepardm@orting.wednet.edu
Peninsula Arthur Jarvis jarvisa@psd401.net
Puyallup Timothy Yeomans YeomaTS@puyallup.k12.wa.us
Steilacoom Kathi Weight kweight@steilacoom.k12.wa.us
Sumner Laurie Dent laurie_Dent@sumnersd.org
Tacoma Carla Santorno Csantor@tacoma.k12.wa.us
University Place Jeff Chamberlin jchamberlin@upsd83.org
White River Janel Keating jkeating@whiteriver.wednet.edu
Griffin Greg Woods gwoods@griffinschool.us
North Thurston Debra Clemens superintendent@nthurston.k12.wa.us
Olympia Patrick Murphy pmurphy@osd.wednet.edu
Rainier Bryon Bahr bahrb@rainier.wednet.edu
Rochester Kimberly M. Fry kfry@rochester.wednet.edu
Tenino Joseph Belmonte belmontej@tenino.k12.wa.us
Tumwater Sean Dotson sean.dotson@tumwater.k12.wa.us
Yelm Brian Wharton brian_wharton@ycs.wednet.edu

2. Copy & paste this letter and send it to your superintendent (OR school principal)

***make sure to replace the highlighted parts with the correct name/word as it applies to you***

Dear [SUPERINTENDENT / PRINCIPAL NAME],

A recent research study estimates that there may be as many as 3,000 youth in Washington State who are being commercially sexually exploited. I am writing to you to help raise awareness of this issue in our community and to voice my support for trafficking prevention to be taught in schools in our district.

It is important that children are given the knowledge and skills they need to remain safe from being exploited, and to not become exploiters themselves. A local sample of commercially sexually exploited youth in King County shows that the average age a child was first purchased for sex is 14 years old. Additionally, many sexually exploited children are first recruited by their peers. Because of this, it is critical that we address this issue in schools so that young people can better recognize and prevent exploitation within their own lives and peer groups.

Washington Trafficking Prevention is a local Tacoma-based organization that provides human trafficking prevention training for schools in Pierce and Thurston counties. They can host parent nights, train staff and faculty, and provide prevention programming directly to middle and high school students. The middle and high school prevention curricula offered by WTP can easily be integrated into existing school programs or initiatives and align with national education standards. Preventing commercial sexual abuse naturally supports other prevention and education programs such as those focused on substance abuse, teen pregnancy, bullying, and sexual consent.

As a [RESIDENT/PARENT] of [SCHOOL DISTRICT / SCHOOL], this issue is of utmost importance to me. January is National Slavery and Human Trafficking Prevention Month. In recognition of this, I hope you will consider bringing human trafficking prevention training to your [DISTRICT / SCHOOL]. To learn more information or request a training from Washington Trafficking Prevention, contact Program Director Brenna Doyle at brenna@traffickingprevention.org.

Sincerely, [YOUR NAME]

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you so much for helping raise awareness of this issue and the critical need for human trafficking prevention in schools!

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Kyra Doubek
    commented 2020-01-21 15:34:19 -0800
    Communities shouting for what they want does create results!!!!!